Ould Newbury Golf Club, a nine hole semi-private club, located on Rte 1 in Newbury, Massachusetts, was officially opened for play on Labor Day, September 4, 1916.
Under the leadership of Benjamin Pearson, Dr. Charles S. Ingham and Joseph Dummer, 60 acres of land were leased from Governor Dummer Academy and in 1915 with a fund of $10,000 construction of the golf course began.
The first officers of Ould Newbury were Rev. Wildfred L. Hoopes (President), Fred M. Ambrose (Vice President), Henry Learned (Treasurer) and Henry F. Cole (Secretary). A Scottish architect/golfer, Jim Lowe, under whose direction the course was laid out and built, was the first professional at Ould Newbury. He was succeeded in 1935 by Peter Moran who was then followed in turn by Ralph Beach, John MacGregor, John MacDonald, Walt Greus, Alex Burns and our current professional Jim Hilton.
The club is operated by a Board of Governors who chair various committees and oversee the day to day functions of the Golf Pro, Course Superintendent and Clubhouse Manager.
The club officially opens for play around the second week in April and closes around Thanksgiving. The public is permitted to play on weekdays, but must play with a member as a guest on weekends and holidays, limited to once per month.
The basic philosophy of Ould Newbury is to provide as complete and enjoyable golfing and social experience as possible while trying to maintain a dues level that encourages membership in the club. We welcome all golfers and strive to provide activities for all interests.